Week 2- Lessig

When I first saw what I was going to be reading for the last two weeks, I was not thrilled. However, I was pleasantly surprised. Lessig goes into great detail about how the world we are living in is “illegal”, but not intentionally. Most of the kids growing up in this tech savvy world know how to do so many different types of remix and sharing that it is second nature. Some of them know it’s wrong, but it’s so easy to do that it doesn’t seem to matter. On page 881 (kindle cloud reader) in Chapter 4: RW, revived, Lessig talks about how kids are taught to site works in writing, but not as much in music and film. The question he asks is simple. He asks if all the rules should be the same for all kinds of media…? It’s a good question to think about. I think the problem here is that so many kids know how to do this so easily that it’s just what we do. People don’t think about making a video of their kid dancing and uploading it to YouTube. In our brains, that is not “copywriting” because it’s not for commercial use…There’s no money gain, so who cares? Another problem is that it’s not well-regulated, so there is not a threat of getting caught.

Chapter 3, I was very interested in what Lessig had to say about iPods and all that they can do. Basically, he says that the iPod is going to become an access point of all that we do! It will serve as a camera, music player, note taker, and everything else that we need. I think he is right on the money here. We all(I use the word all very freely!) want iPhones because they can do everything that we need. I have one, and I use it for basically everything. I can make calls, take photo/video, text, surf the internet, mix music, edit photos… and the list goes on. I think the point he is making here is that with all these technologies, companies are driving themselves crazy to give the people what they want. When we get what we want, we will be doing things that are deemed “illegal”. These laws need to be changed in his opinion, and mine! (RO Extended “Recoding Us” page 764 on my kindle cloud)

I wanted to avoid direct quotes, but I don’t think I could say this one better: “We, as a society, can’t kill this now form of creativity. We can only criminalize it.” (Lessig 1709, remix section, kindle cloud reader) In this part of the book, Lessig is talking about how freely we mix and share different forms of media. I think that this type of lifestyle has taken over and I agree with Lessig. This isn’t something that we can just fix but keeping all the rules the same. There need to be some give on these laws. We need to figure out a way to give people the pay and credit they are due. It’s a big job, but it’s so important that it can’t be left undone. I wouldn’t be one to solve the problem, but I think Lessig has some great ideas and could get us to a much better place. We don’t want to raise “criminals”, we want people to be motivated to continue to create and share, so we need to change some laws around and make that possible! Let’s not over think this people. This is a big problem that needs a radical solution. Although it’s radical, not rocket science. Our world is changing…We need to be willing to change right along with it.

3 thoughts on “Week 2- Lessig

  1. Anybody who knows me would agree when I say that I share your enthusiasm for the iPhone. I had a coworker who hated Apple and said they were evil because of the way they controlled your music even after you purchased it. However, a year later, he had an iPhone. He blamed it on his then girlfriend, but I think in the end he got sucked in by the power of the product. I think that’s the way to handle the copyright issue; make buying the product better than steeling it. If Apple puts some limitations on their music that’s okay with me.

    I really liked your line “Although it’s radical, not rocket science.” I think most people just want a clear path to doing the right thing.

  2. Hi Amanda,

    I really enjoyed reading your blog post because I had similar reactions to the book as you. Like you I was not too sure about reading this book but in the end I found it to be quite interesting and a fast read. While at times I felt like the author went into detail more than was needed, I found the examples in the book very helpful.
    I like that you point out how easy it is for kids and adults to remix and share but may not know that what they are doing is wrong. Lessig points out in his book that one of the problems with the copyright laws is that they are not simplified so that kids and others can easily understand them. I also like that you talk about how kids are taught in school about plagiarism and have a good idea of what the laws is when it comes to print. But often kids and adults do not know that the copyright laws of text are different from the copyright laws for film and music. I think that it would be beneficial if these laws are simplified as well as taught in school so that kids have a better understanding of the laws.

  3. Amanda,
    I too was a little unsure about the first two books and their content. I thought that they were obviously pretty controversial, but I didn’t think that it was all that applicable to me. I was incredibly wrong. I’m glad you brought up the “Illegal but not intentional” point. I realize now how much this actually applies to my life when I was growing up. I remember when the Internet was first becoming a huge, popular resource. Along with that, eventually came the media and file sharing. Initially, it was frowned upon but there wasn’t a huge fuss about it. Then it became viewed as a horribly immoral thing to do (as Napster got shut down) and now the morality of file sharing has become quite foggy. I certainly never intentionally caused harm to any artist, but the way it has been portrayed over the years; you would think that my generation helped create one of the worst ethical dilemmas of all time. As I have continued to read through the material, I am glad to see how much it actually applies to my life, either directly or indirectly.

Leave a Reply

