Video Use #2

Article title: YouTube in the science classroom: tips on incorporating this popular video file-sharing website into your science lessons

Author: Jerry Everhart

Journal:Science and Children.

Publication Date: Summer 2009

I found this article interesting because I think there is a fair amount of controversy about the use of YouTube in classrooms.  I tend to use it a lot more than other teachers that I work with, so I am obviously a fan of it!  I think it can be used in so many ways, so I wanted to see what this guy had to say about using it classrooms.

Basically, Mr. Everhart thinks that the use of YouTube in classrooms (of all ages) can be very useful.  He goes into detail about using YouTube in science lessons.  He writes about how he uses the site for himself and for his students, then gives even more great ideas about how to use the site in your classroom in other ways as well.  I thought it was very interesting the way he uses it.  He has his students use YouTube in the early stages of units to find videos that can be helpful for their unit.  Of course there are guidelines, but I think this is a very smart way to use the site.  Children in this age love to use technology.  What better way to let them show you what they know by letting them find things that they will think are useful to learn about.  I think it’s brilliant.  Obviously, this would have to be closely monitored, but with the right guidance, I think this could be great for upper elementary students right on up through high school.

Incorporating YouTube hits many of the technology standards:

  • NETS-T 4c.  Promote and model digital etiquette and responsible social interactions related to the use of technology and information.  Teachers will need to tell and show students how to do this properly.  They need to be taught how to use this search engine correctly.
  • NETS-T2a: Design or adapt relevant learning experiences that incorporate digital tools and resources to promote student learning and creativity.  I think that this puts a lot of the learning into the students hands when they have to find videos that they think are relevant to their learning. (along with the other ideas he had for incorporation)
  • NETS-S5c: Demonstrate personal responsibility for lifelong learning.  This puts the learning on them! It makes it personal!
  • NETS-S 6a: Understand and use technology systems.  Knowing how to navigate and properly use a site like YouTube gives them lifelong skills.  )I use this site all the time and I’m in grad school!) It is just as important for me as it is for my first graders (don’t worry, I don’t let my first graders browse YouTube just yet!)

I liked that this author decided to incorporate other ideas into this article.  They aren’t things that he necessarily does in his room,but they are good ideas to try.  The  one that really stood out to me was taking virtual field trips.  I think this is especially important for low-income and elementary schools.  There aren’t many field trips that happen any more.  I’m not saying that the internet can replace those experiences, but I think it can really add to learning.  Being able to see it somehow (and go back over and over and over again) is much more effective that not going at all!  The best thing would be (I think) to go first hand and look at other resources on YouTube to reinforce what they learned.

Video in the classroom is really exciting and interesting to me.  I think it’s important and all teachers need to be open to the idea of infusing it into their learning (especially YouTube)! It will make their lives so much easier!

One thought on “Video Use #2

  1. Yes, I agree that YouTube has the potential to really assist students in their learning. NETS-S 5 and 6 are really valuable standards to cover and YouTube can do this well by showcasing a variety of people and ages through technology. I understand why schools are careful with its use though. Searching for any topic can provide all sorts of examples and some are definitely not appropriate for school. Using filters and controlling when students can use the computer will help to negate some of the inappropriate content but I think the most effective way of using YouTube comes when a teacher finds something on his or her own time and then shows it to the class as a group. I often did this with my 6th grade class to make a point or address a question that I couldn’t adequately do on my own. While YouTube is a great resource it should be mediated just like everything else. Thank you for your insight into its use.

Leave a Reply

