Video Resources

1)The first resource I found is one that I think can be very useful to teachers who are  thinking about incorporating video into their classrooms.  It is s slideshare broadcast that tells about the positives of using videos in classrooms.  It gives statistics, research findings, even some ideas of how to use video in your classroom. I think it is important to this week’s topic because it gives some very insightful information in small chunks.  It’s very easy to understand and can easily be incorporated into your classroom.  Your students will only benefit from you checking out this link!

I think it address a few of the NETS standards we have been studying. NETS-T 2a :Design or adapt relevant learning experiences that incorporate digital tools and resources to promote student learning and creativity.  This resource gives you specific examples of how to promote student learning by using video.  NETS-S 3d: Model and facilitate effective use of current and emerging digital tools to locate, analyze, evaluate and use information resources to support research and learning.  Teachers need to know how to use video so that they can model to their students, this resource gives you some clues!  NETS 5b: Exhibit a positive attitude toward using technology that supports collaboration, learning, and productivity.  I think if kids are exposed to many different kinds of videos they will have a better attitude about using different kinds of technology, namely video! (226)

The video is embedded below 🙂

<div style=”margin-bottom:5px”> <strong> <a href=”http://www.slideshare.net/synergybroadcast/using-video-in-the-classroom-1075794” title=”Using Video in the Classroom” target=”_blank”>Using Video in the Classroom</a> </strong> from <strong><a href=”http://www.slideshare.net/synergybroadcast” target=”_blank”>Synergy Broadcast Systems</a></strong> </div>

2) I found this article (with videos on the page) about teachers view video that I thought was very, VERY interesting.  I think it hits the point that most teachers think (that don’t use videos) right on the head “Some teachers are resistant to showing videos in their classrooms because they think of them as cheating.  Teachers get paid to use up class time, and filling it with something made by someone else seems like shirking their duties.”(John Orlando) Mr. Orlando also talks about how teachers think that they need to take what they know from their heads and give that to their students.  Mr. Orlando disagrees.  He says “A teacher’s value is not in the information stored in their head, but rather their ability to pull together the best learning resources to produce a desired outcome.  The modern teacher is (or should be) more an aggregator than a producer.”  I think this is SO important!!! In my opinion, older teachers have a harder time doing this.  I think that education is taking a major shift right now and teachers need to be open to new ideas.  Our world is changing, so our education is going to have to change as well.

I was very interested in the first video (TED).  It basically piggy-backs on the thoughts of John Orlando.  I must warn you, there are a few cuss words (don’t worry, your ears won’t bleed! There’s a few right at the beginning, and then a bad one in the middle… sorry, but the rest of the content is really interesting!)

NETS addressed in this resource:

NETS-T 3a: Demonstrate fluency in technology systems and the transfer of current knowledge to new technologies and situations.  I think our world and education world is in a new situation and that means that we need to change!   This resource shows you the changes and gives you some insight as to what to do from there.  NETS-T5b:  Exhibit leadership by demonstrating a vision of technology infusion, participating in shared decision-making and community building, and developing the leadership and technology skills of others.   I think the key word here is “technology infusion”….This article and TED video talk about infusing videos into classrooms.  The speaker on the TED video says that there is absolutely a place for lecturing, but there is also a place for videos to enhance the learning. The article is below…

http://www.facultyfocus.com/articles/teaching-with-technology-articles/effective-uses-of-video-in-the-classroom/

3)The third site I explore was PBS kids, for teachers.  WOW! I had no idea of all the great things this site offers! First of all, you can search by grade level.  From there you can search topic, and then media type.  I clicked on k-2, then a few subjects, then on video.  There were so many!  There were really short clips, long ones, and games and activities to go along with them.  I think this would be a great thing to check out when starting a unit.   I also think it would be a fun “extra” that kids could do as a reward.  They would still be learning but it would seem like more fun to them.  I went to the teacher pages, but there are also pages for students and for parents as well. I had no idea this even existed, I’m going to have to make sure and save it on my computer at school (or make a delicious account)! I think this site full of resources connects to many of the NETS standards.  NETS-T 2a: Design or adapt relevant learning experiences that incorporate digital tools and resources to promote student learning and creativity. I think this site is all about this standard.  Kids (especially my younger kids) thrive on technology…It keeps them engaged longer and I think that things stick better.  If kids are able to explore, watch, and play games that all connect to a subject (after or during lesson units), it will stick more. NETS-S 5b: Exhibit a positive attitude toward using technology that supports collaboration, learning, and productivity.  I think this resource will really help you incorporate videos and activities to go along with them and that should help your kids be more acceptable of different types of learning. Most kids would rather watch a fun video that listen to a teacher talk the whole time.  Of course I am not saying that I think all teaching should be done from a video… ABSOLUTELY NOT! However, i do think they have their place… The more they are used and infused with other learning, the more acceptable kids will be to them.  I think the problem is that teachers don’t know how to infuse the videos with learning…they just throw them on and don’t think about where they would fit best in a lesson. The link to this wonderful site is below!

http://www.pbs.org/teachers

4) This is another great sight that I happened to stumble upon.  It is a lot like the PBS site, but more “teacher-ish”.  There aren’t as many colors and doesn’t look as pretty, but it looks a lot more academic   I love that you can sort by grade, topic, and media type.  I chose to look through the videos for younger kids in math.  I watched one that was about elapsed time.  This is a really hard concept for young elementary students  and this short video did a great job of showing the story of what elapsed time actually is.  I think kids would pay attention to it because it’s cute, but it also gets the point across.  I think this would be a great introductory activity.  It shows the problem, how to solve it, and the solution.  i know this is just one specific example, but there are so many other great videos (and other digital medias) available on this site.  I think this video could also be used at the end of the unit when you pause in between steps, have kids tell their partner what to do next, then watch the video to see if they were right.  I think these kinds of videos can be used at all different times during many different lessons.  NETS-T 2d says just that: Provide students with multiple and varied formative and summative assessments aligned with content and technology standards and use resulting data to inform learning and teaching.  I think that teachers get way to caught up in the fact that tests need to be paper and pencil.  Why not show your class this video and have them use white boards to tell you what to do next?  I think we need to be more open minded about how to use technology and all that it has to offer! NETS-T 1b: Engage students in exploring real-world issues and solving authentic problems using digital tools and resources.  I think using these “real situation” type videos from this site can be very effective.  I only gave you one example (they needed to bake a dessert for an amount of time) but there are more on here.  Kids learn better when it’s something they can actually see happening in real life.   i think it’s hard to connect with fake issues, so your video choice is vitally important.

http://www.teachersdomain.org/

5) Last but not least, I think one of the most important and easiest resources to use is YouTube.  I also think it can be one of the most dangerous, so it needs to be used with extreme caution.  I think it is safer for older grades (9-12ish) to use YouTube on their own, but I think it is one of your most important resources as a teacher of any grade.  I only have one complaint about YouTube thus far… I hate that they have advertisements inside actual videos. If I pull something up to show my class, I make sure to mute my audio and freeze the picture so that they can’t see or hear the advertisements.  I think this is important because you never know what advertisement is going to pop up.  I”m always afraid it is going to be for beer or something that my little first graders do not need to hear or see! On the positive, I love that you can find just about whatever you want to on YouTube.  I love it for tutorials and fun number and letter songs that kids can memorize.  When we started talking about nouns, I used a song and video on YouTube to help them memorize what nouns are… IT WORKS!  They can recite to me exactly what a noun is.  I love how much is out there, you just have to start looking!  For younger kids, I think these standard connections fall mostly on teachers.  I’m not going to go let my first graders search YouTube, so it’s my job to use it properly.  NETS-T 2a: Design or adapt relevant learning experiences that incorporate digital tools and resources to promote student learning and creativity.  I think YouTube can make things very real for students and really gets their brains going…If it’s used right, it kicks them into high gear.  I think it can make them think on higher levels, and it can help them memorize things (especially though song)! NETS-T 5b:  Exhibit leadership by demonstrating a vision of technology infusion, participating in shared decision making and community building, and developing the leadership and technology skills of others.  Again, using videos from YouTube needs to be an infusion into already great learning.  I don’t think the videos (most of the time) should be used as your primary teaching tool, but INFUSED into your lessons to enhance your studetns’ learning.  YouTube is an amazing tool, only if it is used properly! There are some neat tools in YouTube as well… You can like and save videos in your own profile so that you can go back later and look at them!  It’s always nice to have things like that, it helps me stay more organized! Go check it out!

http://www.youtube.com

 

One thought on “Video Resources

  1. Amanda,

    I hear your voice about changing education. I spent 5 years teaching in the mid 90’s and have been substituting on and off for the past 15 years. When I first started teaching I remember that “whole language” was the new wave in education and many of the “seasoned” educators were very, very resistant to the changes, for very good reasons which I soon realized after trying teach beginning readers using this approach, soley. I think the attitudes of some of the more “seasoned” teachers are similar toward the supposed technological “new wave” of education. Some believe it is just a temporary fad or another tool to teach…but I agree with you that this is a revolution in education. Not the same as the “pendulum swings” of education in the past. I believe the internet is a major advancement in the way we pursue knowledge.

Leave a Reply

