Privacy and Security

Although there was much information, and many very interesting videos, I want to focus this blog to just a few points that I find very valuable. \

The first TED video really got me thinking. As I was sitting here watching the video, my husband actually looked away from the TV and sat down beside me to listen   This video talked about how Facebook, Google, and many other news sites, and filtering what you see.  The speaker talked about how two people can type in the same exact thing in Google, but the results will be absolutely different.  This is a scary thought to me!  These sights are basically catering to what they think you want to see.  If you are a person who looks at mostly “fluff” type of media and news, those are the things that are going to pop up when you start a search.  This poses a big problem for students who are trying to learn how to research and do things on a computer.  NETS for students has a standard directly linked to this.  It’s number 4, letter c: “Collect and analyze data to identify solutions and/or make informed decisions.”  How are students supposed to do this when the internet is different for everyone?  I think this again points to the fact that educators are going to have to be held accountable for showing kids how to discriminate between good and bad information.  The internet is such a  big place, and there is no longer a normal that is the same for everyone.

I can see how this can be helpful and make life a lot easier for some people, but i think it needs to be used at the appropriate sites.  I do not think that search engines, like Google , should be catering and conforming to individual tastes.  People are going to find much different information, and I just don’t think that is the best idea.

Next, I was  very intrigued by the video with the author Lori Andrews.  Here is my problem with privacy: people post things that they really shouldn’t be posting, then wonder why it comes back to do harm to them and other people that they love.  People need to be smart about what they post and where they post it!  If you are on the job hunt, or have a job that would frown upon drinking and getting drunk, don’t post pictures of yourself wasted!  I understand that there needs to be rules and regulations, but people need to be mindful of how they express themselves.   Again, this comes back to kids being taught how to use the internet for what it is for.  Like i stated in my last post, I think tech lessons need to be integrated into everyday classroom lessons AS MUCH AS POSSIBLE.  It all goes back to be being good citizens and doing the right thing.  I think if kids are taught and shown good examples, we will see improvement in this area.  We need to make distinctions when are where different things are appropriate.

Lastly, our kids need to be educated on how to use different privacy settings for different sites.  I know most of this is common sense for us, but it needs to be made public so that it becomes the norm.

2 thoughts on “Privacy and Security

  1. I’m glad you brought up the point about the search engine filtering information and how it can be potentially problematic for students. I think me search has figured out that I go to .org’s, .gov’s and .edu’s a lot because I have learned those are fairly reliable/credible sources of information. I also agree that we should be teaching students this well before college. I don’t remember learning anything about what a good unbiased source of information was. And now with these internet filters it becomes increasingly more important to know how, where and what to search for.

    In response to ‘not posting drunk pictures of yourself’ I totally agree. I try hard not to post things I would be ashamed to show my boss or my grandparents or the parents of students/players which I teach or coach. My online life should reflect how I am in reality, the two should not contradict, they should coincide. However, I have been contemplating as a future teacher if I want to have a separate Facebook page or blog that is designated for students and parents to visit to chat with me and my original account for family and friends. I know teachers who have students as ‘friends’ on facebook and I debate whether that is appropriate or not. How do you feel about it?

  2. Amanda,
    I enjoyed reading your post this week and found myself agreeing with you on the points you made. I was just as shocked as you were when watching the first TED video, that Goggle filters our searches outrages me. Because I happen to be a news junkie my first thought was of people with strong political points of view only receiving information that enforces that point of view. I absolutely agree that we have to teach our students to be good consumers of information; I think that this is extremely important part of being an active member of our society.
    The other point you made involved what people post on Facebook and I agree that as adults we should know better than to post inappropriate photos on-line, many times we don’t, but we should. My only concern is that if adults have such a hard time with what should be a simple thing how can we expect our young students to. I think this is where Digital Citizenship comes in, we are going to have to try to help our students understand the consequences of posting certain things on Facebook.

Leave a Reply

