NETS review…

Wow.  What a wealth of information this week.  There were so many things to review and think about that I don’t even know where to start.

I loved watching videos where different people talked about all the different ways that technology helps so many other people.  I think there are so many people who don’t even know all the ways that technology can be used to make lives easier for so many people.  I was very interested in the video by Ginny Greham.  She spoke about all the advantages of having technology in the medical field. All in all, it just reminded me of the differences that people have, espically generational.  For example… I do all of my banking, insurance, bills, you name it, on the internet.  I hate getting paper statments in the mail.  Just the opposite is my mom.  She is a brilliant paper mananager, and doesn’t do a lot on the computer when it comes to personal matters.  She uses facebook, and has a smart phone, but somethings she likes to keep as they were.

All of that is to say that young people are growing up in a generation of technology all around us.  My almost 2 year old opened up our ipad and was looking for a show on Netflix the other day.  We can’t avoid it!  We don’t try to teach him these things, it’s like they are engrained into their heads (i’m sure his sister is no help…NOT!)

After watching the videos, I took at a look at the NETS standards….Since I teach first grade, it’s hard to see how I encorpoarte all of these into my classroom.  Kids can’t get on a computer and do a research project, but they can learn how to type and use a keyboard.  There are games that they play and things on the computer can be used as rewards.  KIDS LOVE TECHNOLOGY.  In my room, they are surrounded with it.  There are student computers here, we use a promethean board (like a smart board), they use iPods with their book buddies…. It’s everywhere.  There are things that I’m waiting to show them until later in the year as well.  Even though these guys don’t do too much on their own, they are using technology and SEEING technology being used all the time.  I LOVE IT.

I think the most important standard here is this one: Digial Citizenship.It’s number 5 on the student page (it is also addressed in the teacher ones, just different words.)  Basically, it just talks about the fact that kids need to be able to know how to be safe, ethical, use appropriate behavior, and take personal responsiblity for what they do with technology.  Kids need to be told and SHOWN how to do things correctly.  The next one I think that is really important is “troubleshoot systems and applications.” (#6) Kids need to know how to fix stuff, end of story.

I think these standards are good, more teachers should look at them.  I highlighted many more standards than they ones I mentioned, I just think that these 2 are the most important.  My number one is how to be safe on the internet/using technology.  I think parents need to set some rules (for facebook, use of phones, etc.)  It all starts at home.  Teachers can’t do it all, but teachers need to be saying the same things.  The digital world can be a scarry place, they need to be taught how to live in it…because frankly, they do.  There is no way to get around it.

3 thoughts on “NETS review…

  1. I agree that there are so many uses of technology that have made our lives easier and yet maybe busier at the same time. My two high-schoolers use so much technology in and out of school. They rarely phone, mostly text, Facebook, Instagram, use internet music sites while they study, and watch and make YouTube videos. I love paying my bills on-line, getting business and product information, keeping up with far-flung family with Skype and Facebook, and chatting with Lexmark to get my printer working again! I agree that it can be a generational gap with technology, but I also think it may be learning style related and is sometimes related to budget matters. My mom loves Facebook for keeping up with family. She does not have a smartphone however. I think she feels it would be too much of an expense. My dad has never embraced communicating on the computer. I think he pays attention through my mom, but his life work was on the telephone, so that is how he prefers to communicate. I think it will be easier for today’s generation, because they will grow with technology.

    I agree that digital citizenship is an important aspect of the NETS-S. I found that the link to the NETS-S Profiles gave a little more information about linking the standards to activities. It did not go into much detail on the standard of digital citizenship however. The most helpful thing that I found was the link to the NETS Implementation Wiki. There are a few examples of activities for younger students. I really liked the Student Friendly Category Names that could be printed out, laminated and posted for listing activities as they occur in the classroom. It reminded me of the “sisters” café menu (Daily 5).

  2. You’re right in saying Tech is everywhere. My eleven year old son is using computers in a way that I barely touched on in my first year in college – yes, that was a long time ago. My daughter has more gadgets than I do and uses three of those gadgets at the same time. I work with students all day long in a computer lab overseeing their work on adult high school diploma, fourteen computers plus my own. I can honestly say it is a blessing when the power goes out. When those rare moments occur the students and I sit around in the low light a talk about life. I mention that to say, yes, technology is all around us and is wonderful, however, it is refreshing when everything shuts down for awhile.

  3. You’re right in saying Tech is everywhere. My eleven year old son is using computers in a way that I barely touched on in my first year in college – yes, that was a long time ago. My daughter has more gadgets than I do and uses three of those gadgets at the same time. I work with students all day long in a computer lab overseeing their work on adult high school diploma, fourteen computers plus my own. I can honestly say it is a blessing when the power goes out. When those rare moments occur the students and I sit around in the low light a talk about life. I mention that to say, yes, technology is all around us and is wonderful, however, it is refreshing when everything shuts down for awhile.

Leave a Reply

